Skip to main content

Dyson Citizenship Awards presented

Ralph Wilhelm ’67, chair of the Fraternity and Sorority Advisory Council, congratulates honorable mention winner Hillary Pond.

The winner and two honorable mentions in the 2014 John S. Dyson Citizenship Awards were announced Feb. 22 on campus. The award was established in 2001 in honor of John S. Dyson ’65, a trustee emeritus, presidential councilor and a member of the Fraternity and Sorority Advisory Council.

The award is given annually as a part of the A.D. White Leadership Conference to a student who has exemplified exceptional leadership within the Greek community and who has demonstrated a strong commitment to community service, philanthropy, scholarship and citizenship. 

This year's winner, Jordana Gilman, a senior majoring in human biology, health and society and a Meinig Scholar, has run a program for girls living in a battered women's shelter and volunteered as a respite care provider for people with bipolar disorder and cognitive disabilities in Ithaca. She is president of Cornell Hillel, chair of health and wellness for Kappa Delta and serves as a Risley Hall resident adviser.

Honorable mention recipient Samuel Ritholtz, a senior majoring in international agriculture and rural development and a Tradition Scholar, was philanthropy chair of Alpha Delta Phi. In that role he organized many events including his fraternity’s annual philanthropy event, Victory Club, which in spring 2012 raised $8,000 for the nongovernmental organization Voices of African Mothers.

Honorable mention recipient Hillary Pond, a senior in applied economics and management, served as vice president of judicial affairs and standards of the Panhellenic Council. She has hosted a women’s self-defense and empowerment class and currently serves as president of Alpha Kappa Psi Professional Business Fraternity.