Campus sustainability awards reflect a green groove

Cornellians on campus strive for a green groove, and the President’s Sustainable Campus Committee awarded individuals and groups 2018 Cornell University Partners in Sustainability Awards April 20.

Carli Fraccarolli ’18 and Lauren Yeaman ’18 won the Student Award. Fraccarolli founded the Kappa Chapter of Epsilon Eta, a professional honors fraternity focused on sustainability. Yeaman is president of Nature RX@Cornell, a group with a shared passion for the ways in which the university’s natural beauty can impact personal well-being.

Amy Penick ’17, sustainability metrics integration fellow at the Campus Sustainability Office, won the service award.

Two groups, Cornell Thrift and the Society for Natural Resources Conservation (SNRC), won in the student group category. Cornell Thrift provides a way for Cornell students to pass on clothing and electronics to avoid contributing to the waste stream. SNRC hosts Fall Creek gorge stewardship events, runs a zero-waste Earth 5K race to model sustainable living and initiated the cross-campus TerraCycle collection bin.

Jonathon Schuldt, assistant professor of communication, won the faculty award for his research in environmental attitudes and behavior, and for creating a survey to gauge student interest in sustainability.

Sam Benson, residence hall director of Ecology House, won the staff award for her work on sustainability, environmental justice, education and stewardship.

On April 2, the 2018 the community partner award was presented to Fernando de Aragon of Ithaca Carshare and Hector Chang ’15 of Bike Walk Tompkins at the 2018 Town-Gown Conference on Sustainability.

- Blaine Friedlander

Media Contact

Joe Schwartz