Skip to main content

Three alumni named 2019 MacArthur fellows

Three alumni have been awarded 2019 MacArthur Foundation fellowships for showing exceptional creativity in their work and promise for making additional future advances in their fields.

Lisa Daugaard, M.A. ’87, is a criminal justice reformer developing alternative approaches to policing and standard drug law enforcement practices to improve outcomes for people struggling with substance abuse and with mental illness.

Zachary Lippman ’00 (College of Agriculture and Life Sciences) is a plant biologist investigating the genetic networks underpinning plant development and growth and developing tools to help breed hardier and higher yielding crops.

Emmanuel Pratt ’99 (College of Architecture, Art and Planning) is an urban designer working to turn neglected neighborhoods into areas of growth and vitality by integrating agriculture, education and design in a resident-driven approach to community development.

The alumni are among 26 fellows who will receive a no-strings-attached award – widely known as the “genius grant” – of $625,000 over five years from the foundation, allowing them to pursue their own artistic, intellectual and professional activities.

— Joe Wilensky

Media Contact

Rebecca Valli