Skip to main content

Weiss fellow nominations sought to recognize outstanding teaching of Cornell undergraduates

To recognize faculty members with a sustained record of effective and inspiring teaching of Cornell undergraduates, faculty, academic staff, and junior and senior students are invited to nominate tenured faculty members for the 2008 Stephen H. Weiss Presidential Fellows Award.

Weiss fellows receive $5,000 a year for five years to use for programs of their choice.

Nominations from faculty should include their own letter of support, a supporting letter from another member of the academic staff and six letters of support from undergraduate students. Student nominations should include two letters from students and the names and addresses of four additional students who are willing to write letters of support.

The letters should address the nominee's specific contributions, including examples that demonstrate his or her distinctive contributions to undergraduate teaching, influence as a mentor or adviser and examples of helping students in difficult situations.

The nomination committee, appointed by President David Skorton, includes Weiss fellows, emeritus faculty and three undergraduate students.

Nominations, due by March 6, should be sent to the Stephen H. Weiss Presidential Fellows Nominating Committee, 315 Day Hall. For further information, call (607) 255-4843.

For details about the 2007 fellows -- Ross Brann, Albert George and David Winkler, see To date, 46 faculty members have been named Weiss fellows since the Cornell Board of Trustees established the award in 1992.

Media Contact

Media Relations Office