Skip to main content

Changes made to sesquicentennial leadership

Media Contact

Simeon Moss

Planning for Cornell’s yearlong sesquicentennial celebration in 2015 is progressing smoothly, and planning leadership of the celebration has changed.

Professor Isaac Kramnick will continue as acting chair of the Sesquicentennial Steering Committee until January 2014, when professor and Dean Glenn Altschuler, currently on sabbatical, will return to his role as chair.

Members of the steering committee now include, along with Kramnick and Altschuler: honorary chairs Peter Meinig, emeritus chair of the Cornell Board of Trustees, and his wife, Nancy Meinig; Vice President Mary Opperman; Dean of Faculty Joe Burns; professor Rosemary Avery; Vice Provost Judith Appleton; professor Rebecca Stoltzfus; and professor David Feldshuh. Vice Presidents Tommy Bruce and Charles Phlegar recently stepped down from the steering committee after two years of participation.

This week, the steering committee announced that Lynne Conway, director of class programs overseeing Cornell Reunion for Alumni Affairs and Development, will serve as project associate for the Sesquicentennial Operations Committee. That committee handles coordination and logistics for Sesquicentennial Charter Day weekend activities, April 25-27, 2015, on campus. Conway will oversee the operational aspects of those events and will report to Opperman, who chairs the operations committee.

Story Contacts