Around Cornell

News directly from Cornell's colleges and centers

Ukraine’s National Symphony Orchestra featured in Cornell Concert Series

The National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine (NSOU), known for its exceptional performances and its extensive, multi-award-winning recordings, will perform in the next Cornell Concert Series (CCS) concert. The event, featuring conductor Volodymyr Sirenko and cellist Natalia Khoma, takes place Sat., Feb. 10 at 3 p.m. in Bailey Hall.

The National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine

Formed by the Council of Ministers of Ukraine in 1918, the National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine is known as one of the finest symphony orchestras in Eastern Europe, having achieved worldwide recognition. They have been praised for their “thrilling performance... every note crisp and exact”  (Albany Times Union). The New York Concert Review has lauded Khoma’s cello playing as “perfectly controlled and beautifully expressive…magical and deeply touching.”

Since 1993, the NSOU has released more than 100 recordings featuring both Ukrainian and international repertoire. The Orchestra’s repertoire for the Ithaca concert includes Dmitry Bortniansky’s Sinfonia Concertante in B-flat Major, Franz Josef Haydn’s Cello Concerto No. 1 in C Major, Hob.VIIb/1, and Jean Sibelius’ Symphony No. 3 in C Major, Op. 52.

Artist and program information, subscriptions, single tickets, and student memberships are available through the CCS website.

Read the full story on the College of Arts and Sciences website.

Media Contact

Media Relations Office