Around Cornell

News directly from Cornell's colleges and centers

Gainor elected to College of Fellows of the American Theatre

J. Ellen Gainor, professor of performing and media arts, has been elected to the College of Fellows of the American Theatre, one of the highest honors bestowed upon educators and professionals within the American theater community.

J. Ellen Gainor

The election recognizes Gainor as “a distinguished scholar of early 20th century American theater, whose writings and edited collections have placed an important and overdue spotlight on the work of women who were theatrical innovators.”

The College of Fellows originated in 1965 within the American Educational Theatre Association. Membership recognizes exceptional professional achievements and character, as well as contributions to theater’s impact worldwide. Through the years, fellows have included luminaries such as Tony Award-winning scenic designer Ming Cho Lee; voice specialist Kristin Linklater; theater historians Oscar Brockett and James V. Hatch; Obie Award-winning actor Moses Gunn; and pioneering director Lloyd Richards.

Gainor’s membership will be formally recognized at an event at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in April 2025.

Read the full story on the College of Arts and Sciences website.

Media Contact

Media Relations Office