Twenty new Engaged Faculty Fellows named

A total of 20 faculty members from eight colleges have been named Engaged Faculty Fellows, committed to advancing community-engaged learning and scholarship at Cornell and within their academic disciplines.

The program is offered through the Office of Engagement Initiatives (OEI). Nearly 100 faculty members have become fellows since the program launched in 2013.

“This year, more than ever, we are craving a community of peers to help us grapple with the challenges of COVID-19 and pivoting our partnerships toward online engagement,” said Anna Sims Bartel, associate director of community-engaged curricula and practice in OEI. “The fellows come with all kinds of interests and experience, focusing on a common goal of enhancing community-engaged learning for student and community impact. I’m excited to work with them.”

During the yearlong cohort program, participants work in one of two communities of practice: Faculty Fellows in Engaged Learning focus on designing, refining and enhancing engaged courses and curricula; Faculty Fellows in Engaged Scholarship develop products of their public work, including pieces for academic publication, conference presentations, op-eds and manuals.

Each cohort explores theories and practices of community-engaged learning; meets monthly to discuss readings, projects and challenges; and expands the idea of what it means to teach and conduct research at Cornell, with community partners.

Amy Newman, senior lecturer in the Cornell SC Johnson College of Business, is the faculty co-lead for the Faculty Fellows in Engaged Learning cohort, facilitating the program with Bartel. Rebecca Brenner, lecturer at the Cornell Institute for Public Affairs, is faculty co-lead for the Faculty Fellows in Engaged Scholarship.

The new Engaged Faculty Fellows are collaborating with community partners from across the U.S. and around the world, addressing such projects as science communication through stand-up comedy, grant-writing for rural K-12 schools, developing a moral psychology minor at Cornell and designing accessible and safe self-checkout machines.

2020-21 Faculty Fellows in Engaged Learning:

  • John Doris ’86, professor, Charles H. Dyson School of Applied Economics and Management, Cornell SC Johnson College of Business;
  • Danielle Eiseman, visiting lecturer, Department of Communication, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS);
  • Amal El-Ghazaly, assistant professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering;
  • Elizabeth Fox, lecturer, Master of Public Health Program, and Department of Population Medicine and Diagnostic Sciences, College of Veterinary Medicine (CVM);
  • Lorraine Francis, lecturer, Master of Public Health Program, CVM;
  • Mitch Glass, visiting critic, Department of City and Regional Planning, College of Architecture, Art and Planning, and Department of Landscape Architecture, CALS;
  • Ian Greer, M.S. ’03, Ph.D. ’05, senior research associate, ILR School and, and director, Ithaca Co-Lab;
  • Kathleen Long, professor of French, Department of Romance Studies, College of Arts and Sciences (A&S);
  • Christina McDowell; School of Hotel Administration; SC Johnson
  • Shaun Nichols, professor, Sage School of Philosophy, A&S;
  • Laura Niemi, assistant professor, Department of Psychology, A&S;
  • Gretchen Rymarchyk, extension associate and deputy director of Rural Schools Association, Community and Regional Development Institute, CALS;
  • Jay Yoon, assistant professor, Department of Design and Environmental Analysis, College of Human Ecology (CHE).

2020-21 Faculty Fellows in Engaged Scholarship:

  • Elizabeth Day, lecturer, Cornell Institute for Public Affairs, and assistant director for policy engagement, Cornell Project 2Gen, Bronfenbrenner Center for Translational Research, CHE;
  • Maia Dedrick, Hirsch postdoctoral associate, Department of Anthropology, A&S;
  • Wendy Erb, postdoctoral associate, Cornell Lab of Ornithology, CALS;
  • Keith Green, professor, Department of Design and Environmental Analysis, CHE, and Sibley School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, College of Engineering;
  • J. Nathan Matias, assistant professor, Department of Communication, CALS;
  • Annalisa L. Raymer, lecturer, Department of Global Development, and director of the Community Learning and Service Partnership (CLASP), CALS;
  • Linda Rayor, senior lecturer and senior research associate, Department of Entomology, CALS.

Ashlee McGandy is the content strategist in the Office of Engagement Initiatives.

Media Contact

Rebecca Valli