Around Cornell

News directly from Cornell's colleges and centers

ILR School announces 2023 McPherson Honors and Awards

ILR held its 30th McPherson Honors and Awards Celebration, a spring tradition honoring students and faculty, Tuesday at the Statler Hotel on campus.

Opening remarks were made by ILR Dean Alexander Colvin, Ph.D. '99, the Kenneth F. Kahn '69 Dean and the Martin F. Scheinman '75, M.S. ’76 Professor of Conflict Resolution. The names of award recipients were presented by Kevin F. Harris, Frank B. Miller Director of Student Services. George R. Boyer, the Martin P. Catherwood Professor of Industrial and Labor Relations and professor in the Departments of Economics and International and Comparative Labor, presented the teaching awards.

The MacIntyre Award for Exemplary Teaching & Advising was presented to Sarah Besky, associate professor of International and Comparative Labor & Labor Relations, Law, and History, and Evan Riehl, assistant professor of Economics.

The Robert N. Stern Award for Teaching & Mentoring was given to Gali Racabi, assistant professor of Labor Relations, Law and History.

Awards and winners announced Tuesday include:

James E. McPherson Scholarship
Tara Gideon

SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence
Yasmin Ballew
Anne Bugayong

Merrill Presidential Scholars
Yasmin Ballew
Anne Bugayong
Libby Willkomm

David B. Lipsky Award for Conflict Resolution, Impact and Excellence
Yasmin Ballew
Brendan Klein
Patrick J. Mehler

Eric Lawrence Ehrenberg Memorial Prize
Jassa Chang-Weinberg

Virginia Freeman Memorial Prize
Anne Bugayong

Daniel J. Alpern Award
Alexandra Michael

James Campbell Award
Libby Willkomm

Irving M. Ives Senior Award / Felix Kaufman-Sophie Seidenberg Memorial Award
Yasmin Ballew

John O’Donnell Prize in Labor Law
Erin Fennessy
Ananthi Jayasundera

Steven Spencer Memorial Award
Anne Bugayong

James A. Gross Award
Margot Treadwell

Candidates for graduation with honors
Richmond Addae
Chase Agheli
Salima Ali
Yasmin Ballew
Emmah Bashir
Kyle Beck
August Biben
Anne Bugayong
Katrina Hanauer Cassell
Elijah Emery

Ariella Hajibay-Piranesi
Ananthi Jayasundera
Madison Kang
Leio Koga
Kaila Lingo

Maya Mau
Patrick J. Mehler
Kaitlyn Molito
Pearl Ngai
Edgar O’Connell
Mark Pon
Malcolm Shure
Scott Siegel
Ann Stetz
Carson Taylor
Bella Vandenberg
Alexandra Van de Kieft
Hanna Xue
Lesly Gissell Zhicay

ILR Global Scholars
Gaëlle Alcindor
David Bromberg
Anne Bugayong
Cianna Huang
Leio Koga
Lucas Leston

Patrick J. Mehler
Samantha Na
Niamh O’Connor
Shivani Singh
Hanni Wiegand
Raquel Zohar

General Mills Award for Exemplary Teaching
Brian Lucas

General Mills Award for Exemplary Graduate Teaching Assistant
Nelson Wong

Martha L. Smith Awards for Staff Advising & Mentoring
Anu Lyons
Kay Lewis

Lou Jean Fleron Award for Engaged Learning
Donna Ramil

Media Contact

Media Relations Office