Around Cornell

News directly from Cornell's colleges and centers

A&S honors 23 faculty with endowed professorships

Twenty-three faculty members in the College of Arts & Sciences were recently honored with endowed professorships approved by the Cornell Board of Trustees, continuing the college’s priority to recognize and support faculty excellence.

With these new appointments, the number of A&S faculty appointed to endowed professorships since fall 2018 has reached 66.

“These endowed professorships within Arts & Sciences recognize outstanding faculty, who enhance the academic experience for our students and ‘do the greatest good’ for our society,” said Cornell Provost Michael Kotlikoff. “It is my pleasure to applaud the accomplishments of these eminent and emerging scholars.”

The professorships are possible because of generous gifts from alumni, parents and friends. Those gifts allow the College to replace retiring faculty, recruit stellar new faculty and recognize and retain mid-career and senior faculty to provide leadership across the disciplines and in areas of strategic importance.

The 23 faculty members honored are:

Gerard Aching, W.E.B. Dubois Professor in the Humanities

Rachel Bean, Jacob Gould Schurman Professor

Mabel Berezin, Distinguished Professor of Arts & Sciences in Sociology

Csaba Csaki, John A. Newman Professor of Physical Science

Scott Emr, Samuel C. and Nancy M. Fleming Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology

Jill Frank, President White Professor of History and Political Science

Stephen Hilgartner, Frederic J. Whiton Professor of Science & Technology Studies

Natasha Holmes, Anne S. Bowers Associate Professor

Ray Jayawardhana, Hans A. Bethe Professor

Mayer Juni, Bruce Slovin Assistant Professor in American Jewish Studies

Sabrina Karim, Hardis Family Assistant Professor for Teaching Excellence

Ailong Ke, Robert J. Appel Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology

Dong Lai, Benson Jay Simon ’59 MBA ’62 and Mary Ellen Simon MA ’63 Professor

Tristan Lambert, William T. Miller Professor in Chemistry and Chemical Biology

Marilyn Migiel, Kappa Alpha Professor in Literature

Song Lin, Tisch University Professor

Kin Fai Mak, inaugural Josephson Family Professor

Shaun Nichols, Distinguished Professor of Arts & Sciences in Philosophy

Shirley Samuels, Thomas and Dorothy Litwin Professor in American Studies

Philippe Sosoe, Frank Spitzer and Narahari Umanath Prabhu Associate Professor of Mathematics

Steve Strogatz, inaugural Susan and Barton Winokur Distinguished Professor for the Public Understanding of Science and Mathematics

Peidong Sun, Distinguished Associate Professor of Arts & Sciences in China and Asia-Pacific Studies

Yunan Yang, Goenka Family Assistant Professor in Mathematics

Media Contact

Media Relations Office