Around Cornell

News directly from Cornell's colleges and centers

ILR announces 2022 McPherson Awards

ILR held its 29th McPherson Honors and Awards Celebration, a spring tradition honoring students and faculty, on campus Wednesday. The event at the Statler Hotel was held in person for the first time since 2019.

Opening remarks were made by ILR Dean Alexander Colvin, Ph.D. '99, the Kenneth F. Kahn '69 Dean and the Martin F. Scheinman '75, 'MS '76 Professor of Conflict Resolution. The names of award recipients were presented by Kevin F. Harris, Frank B. Miller Director of Student Services, and by George R. Boyer, the Martin P. Catherwood Professor of Industrial and Labor Relations, senior associate dean for academic affairs and director of teaching.

The MacIntyre Award for Exemplary Teaching & Advising was presented to Verónica Martínez-Matsuda, associate professor of Labor Relations, Law, and History, and the Robert N. Stern Award for Teaching & Mentoring was given to Senior Lecturer Allison Weiner Heinemann

Awards and winners announced Wednesday include:

James E. McPherson Scholarship
John Orona

SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence
Sherell Farmer

Merrill Presidential Scholars
Daniel James II
Oliver Eccleston
Catherine St. Hilaire

David B. Lipsky Award
Natalie Sullivan Baker

Eric Lawrence Ehrenberg Memorial Prize 
Pamela Tan

Virginia Freeman Memorial Prize
Pamela Tan

Daniel J. Alpern Award
Catherine St. Hilaire
Hannah Ritter

James Campbell Award
Victor Rosas

Irving M. Ives Senior Award
Stella Linardi

John O’Donnell Prize in Labor Law
Zene Willoughby

Seidman Prize
Alexis Fintland
Meghna Maharishi

Steven Spencer Memorial Award
Tamara Munoz

Candidates for graduation with honors
Lauren Arnett
Marie Berry
Susannah Boyar
Yu An Chen
Rebecca Eagan
Oliver Eccleston
Elijah Emery
Sherell Farmer
Alexis Fintland
Lotoya Francis
Matthew Gavieta
James Granata
Harrison Kadish
Helen Kim
Shruthi Krishnan
Meghna Maharishi
Pierson Ohr
Sofia Petrulla
Hannah Potter
Avery Putnam
Victor Rosas
Matthew Samilow
Sachin Shah
Jeremy Sharp
Hargun Sodhi
Catherine St. Hilaire
Samuel Stamler
Leah Tilson
Siddharth Tripathi
Nicole Wang
Tracy Xu
Michelle Yang

ILR Global Scholars
Mallory Azziz
Anika Bajpai
Rocio Chanez
Jenniffer Flores
Kaitlin Martin
Michael Seitz
Catherine St. Hilaire
Jacqueline Torres
Nicole Wang

General Mills Award for Exemplary Graduate Teaching
Victor Yengle

Staff Mentoring Award
Brigid Beachler

Engaged Learning Award
Esta Bigler
Ron Applegate

Media Contact

Media Relations Office