Around Cornell

News directly from Cornell's colleges and centers

Three graduate students chosen for DOE program

Matthew George Signorelli, Ningdong Wang and Aileen Luo are among the 87 students selected to receive the prestigious U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science Graduate Student Research Award (SCGSR) for the 2022 Solicitation 2 cycle. The fellowship provides world-class training and access to state-of-the-art facilities and resources at DOE national laboratories. The students will be conducting research at Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL).

An aerial view of Brookhaven National Laboratory.

“The SCGSR program provides a way for graduate students to enrich their scientific research by engaging with researchers at DOE national labs, learning from worldclass scientists and using state-of-the-art equipment and facilities. In addition, they get valuable opportunities to network and observe firsthand what it’s like to have a scientific career,” said Asmeret Asefaw Berhe, director of the DOE Office of Science, in a statement.

Physics graduate students Signorelli and Wang’s project will be in the DOE priority convergence research topical area of accelerator science. They will be working on the Electron-Ion Collider Project; Signorelli’s Brookhaven advisor will be Vadim Ptitsyn and Wang’s advisor will be Erdong Wang.

Luo, who studies materials science and engineering, will work in the DOE priority convergence research topical area of basic energy science. Her project aims to develop scientific instruments for neutron and X-ray facilities.

SCGSR awardees work on research projects “of significant importance to the Office of Science mission that address critical energy, environmental, and nuclear challenges at national and international scales,” according to the award announcement.

Awardees were selected from a diverse pool of graduate applicants from institutions around the country. Selection was based on merit peer review by external scientific experts.

Read a version of this story on the College of Arts and Sciences website.

Media Contact

Media Relations Office